I Said Oops Up Side Your Head, I Said Oops Up Side Your Head

 

I used to like this song (the one in the title) when I was young but I spent hours and hours and hours and hours trying to work out the meaning of the title. I still don’t know what it means and little Emily is just as puzzled as I am. It’s stupid. It’s a good song, but it’s stupid.

 

We’ve been going through some of my records.

 

Where’s Adam Ant? I loved Adam Ant with his stripey face and flamboyant movements of his arms. 

STAAAAAAND AND DELIVER,

YOUR MONEY OR YOUR LIFE

 

 

And little Jimmy Somerville. WHERE IS LITTLE JIMMY SOMERVILLE? Bronski Beat. Yeah.

 

And that group, what’s-their-name, who sang

RED, RED, WINE

STAY CLOSE TO ME

ALL I CAN DO I’VE DONE

DI DI DA DA DA

 

Why can’t I remember their name?

I KNOW IT.

I’ve always known it.

Kingston Town.

Cherry-O-Baby.

ALI CAMPBELL was the singer.

Oh for fuck’s sake.

IT’S ANNOYING ME.

 

TELL ME IT SOMEBODY

PLEASE

NOW

THANK YOU

 

 

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. HELLLOOOOO!

    WHERE ARE YOU?

    Reply
  2. WHY WON’T YOU TELL ME?

    Reply
  3. SOD THE LOT OF YOU THEN, I’M GOING TO ASK GOOGLE.

    Reply
  4. UB40.

    SEE, I TOLD YOU I KNEW IT.

    Reply
  5. AND THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR HELP.

    AFTER EVERYTHING I DO FOR YOU ALL.

    HUH.

    I WON’T BOTHER NEXT TIME.

    Reply
  6. Dear Dotty,

    It is UB40. I love that song too. White reggae. Who knew?

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
  7. Grumpy

     /  March 14, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    I knew it was UB40, they are from Birmingham my home town, although I live elsewhere now.
    Sorry I wasn’t quick enough, you impatient girl you!
    Grumpy x

    Reply
  8. clownonfire

     /  March 14, 2012

    My daughter, Lord Evil, felt sorry for you.
    She asked if we could do a vlog for you.
    I said you didn’t deserve it, but as I fear her, I agreed.

    http://clownonfire.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/dotty-headbanger/

    CoF

    Reply
  9. Fizzy

     /  March 14, 2012

    LOl ! and I used to always woner about that song tooooooo…but thank you Dotty for getting it stuck in my head lmao :-D going to mop the floorsnow singing oops up side your head, might even change the words to ‘oops um theres some dirt’ hehe

    Reply
  10. Dorothy

     /  March 15, 2012

    Well, I would have helped you but I’ve spent the last hour and half trying to get my father to go to sleep. He keeps thinking I am his sister and wants to know when the boat will be coming to get him. I never should have banged my head into the shower wall last night because this damn headache won’t go away and he’s not helping the situation!
    Adam Ant is on tour in Australia right now but will be in the UK in July…not that you’d go but you could think about feeding him Cumberland sausages.

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,
      OH. I wish you hadn’t told me Adam Ant was still performing. It’s sad when they get old and they’re still prancing round the stage like youngsters. I don’t like him now.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  11. Hi, sweetie,

    I just got home — sorry!!! Red Red Wine was originally sung by Neil Diamond, but it was released by UB40 in 1983. Sorry I wasn’t home! I hope all is well, otherwise than being annoyed with us! 8-)

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  12. Oh, for Pete’s sake, UB40, already. Now tell us what happened to Adam Ant…”don’t drink, don’t smoke…what do you do?” Bless his judgmental heart…

    Reply
  13. *covers her eyes while weeping* I’m so sorry! I’ve come too late. There’s nothing left of the party but the crying and sick on the floor…

    Reply
  14. “Ooops. I did it again… ”

    Uncle

    Reply
  15. This must be the time you lost your marbles…

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

