A Dark Shitey Rhyme (Not Happy At All So Don’t Read It If You’re Feeling Down, My Chickies)

 

The God In The Corner

 

Look inside my head.

What do you see?

Darkness and ugliness

crawling through me;

deathly and cruel

like the venomous asp

or the sly anaconda

tightening his grasp.

 

Witness my madness

and sadness and woe,

creeping and crawling,

pathetically slow;

laying thick traces

of putrefied slime

that harden and freeze

with the passing of time.

 

Thanatos waits with his

watch in his fist,

hating and timing

this pulse in my wrist;

tapping his feet

in time to the ticks

with a nod to the Ferryman

moored on the Styx.

 

And I want to, I want to,

I want to so much -

run  to him, plead with him,

feel his cold touch;

but I can’t / and I won’t

and I can / and I will

and I do / and I don’t

so he teases me still.

 

 

Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. Dearest Dotty,
    Wow.
    Gobsmacked,
    Veggiewitch

    Reply
  2. It’s real and it’s powerful and getting it out of your head and onto the page. Realize that by getting the darkness out, into the open, you are letting light in to combat it, and that is a victory! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. clownonfire

     /  March 18, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Stop hurting.
    CoF

    Reply
  4. Dear Dotty,

    I’m speechless. Mark your calendar!

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  5. Oh heck! Dotty, this is heavy shite. I think it might have ruined the rest of my lousy day. But you did warn me didn’t you. Thanatos…. Gosh Dotty he’s not worth it.

    Reply
  6. Dotty is stronger than all of us put together, wrapped in titanium. She just forgets, sometimes. Thank goodness she’s so gifted at expressing herself — helps all of us, in it’s way, doesn’t it

    Thank you, D. I love you xoxo

    Goobles

    Reply
  7. kzackuslheureux

     /  March 20, 2012

    Nice, tasty morsel of Mr. Reaper Pie! Me likey!

    Reply
  8. Just brilliant. Love it. Makes me want to jump off a bridge right now (only, I can swim. Maybe another method?)

    Reply
    • Dear butimbeautiful,
      Thank you.
      I did warn you in the title. And I’m not telling you ANY other methods, I’m not a euthanasia-ist.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  9. Persephone Jones

     /  March 31, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    what a fantastic poem, you have such talent and creativity!
    I shall read that to the Bewildered, though most of those already/have.
    regards
    Px

    Reply
  10. You have a gift, you are a treasure. Believe it, the rest of us do.
    xox

    Reply
  11. Dion Burn

     /  April 26, 2012

    I might have liked it if I’d read it, but I took your advice, because I’m feeling a little down. Maybe when I feel better.

    Reply
  12. You sound beautiful.

    Reply
  13. Dear Dotty, this is a great way to start a Monday morning – I know that you’re going to say that it’s a depressing poem but for me when I find something which is so well written, well that lifts me, it certainly doesn’t depress me. How can enjoyment be depressing? For me, it’s not the subject which is depressing when reading the poetry, it’s the quality and there’s some real good stuff going on here. Thanks for sharing. Love Loony. xxx

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

