The F***ing Migraine Poem

 

Light, light, light

bright fucking light

bright bright bright

bright bright

fucking light

beautiful

like Sirius in my eye

 

Dread dread dread

overwhelming dread

dread dread dread

dread dread

fucking dread

of what’s about to happen

in my head

 

pins pins pins

tiny stabbing pins

pins pins pins

sticking in

fucking pins

paralyse 

the whole of my right hand side

 

Sick sick sick 

sick vomit sick

sick vomit sick

sick sick

fucking sick

and more sick

and more and more and more sick

 

sharp sharp pain

high piercing pain

pain pain pain

pain pain

fucking pain

white spikes of fire

from my brain

 

still still still

stay fucking still

stay fucking still

still still

fucking still

stay fucking still

stay absolutely fucking still

 

hour hours hours

long fucking hours

long like days days days

fucking hours and hours

and hours

of pain pain pain

pain pain

 

sleep sleep sleep

blessed fucking sleep

sleep sleep sleep

sleep sleep

fucking sleep

and when I woke at dawn

the fucking migraine had gone

 

strange strange strange

very fucking strange

strange strange strange

strange strange

fucking strange

this eerie otherness

that will stay with me for days.

 

 

Leave a comment

56 Comments

  1. clownonfire

     /  March 23, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Here’s my wish to you: May this week finally end.
    Your #1 fan,
    CoF

    Reply
  2. Dorothy

     /  March 23, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    God love how you managed managed managed to even write write write this poem poem poem because migraines SUCK SUCK SUCK!
    But I have magic blue pills that the doctor will only give me 20 at a time because they contain barbituates and they are a wonderful thing that without them I would lie down dead with heat and cold packs after vomiting all day.
    I am dreadfully sorry you endured the pain of a migraine. I wish I was talented enough to banish all head pain of the face of the planet because it is the one pain I cannot tolerate….that and the neck pain that accompanies it.
    I sincerely hope you are free of it now. Even if you are in the zombie state that follows…take it easy for a while please.
    Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,
      They’re the only things that knock me flat.
      Christ, I couldn’t have done this yesterday – I couldn’t move never mind write. It’s gone off now though thanks.
      I used to have little blue pills called Dixarit but they banned them here. My beta-blockers prevent them mostly.
      Love Dotty the Zombie xxx

      Reply
  3. Yikes. Now I have a migrane in sympathy for yours.

    Reply
  4. Dear Dotty,

    I have never had a migraine, so I can’t really empathize. But I have never heard a better description than this poem. Dotty, dear, you are an artist with a pen, and artists always seem to be a little fucked up. Genius!

    Reply
  5. Dear Dotty,
    This is exactly what migraine feels like. The rhythm, the repetition, the continuation. You nailed it Dotty. You really nailed it. ♥

    Reply
  6. “Loooooooovvvvveeeeee iiiiiiit… ” (<– gotta sing that)

    Dearest, Dotty,

    I have heard in the future that a little Botox between the eyes (on the glabella) will make your migraines as right as rain.

    Love,

    Uncle
    xoxo

    PS- Of course, I don't believe a Botox Nurse would do a house call. Let's not lose hope!

    Reply
    • Dear Uncle,
      I might look on the internet and see if I can get some – oh, I’ve just thought, I could invent a new trepanning kit that injects botox at the same time – for Mentals with migraines or jsut for vain Mentals who don’t like their wrinkles. The Dotty Headbanger Botox Trepanning Kit. Or —- no, no, I’m going to invent The Dotty Headbanger Botox Brick – it sounds better. Thank you!!
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • P.S. I think you have to be one of those rich women who have Botox parties to get them to come to your house. I can’t get the Asda delivery van to come any more since I didn’t have the £5.00 to pay the driver.
        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dearest, Dotty,

        Yes! The Botox Brick! Throw it right between the eyes on the glabella! That will make any migraine go away!

        Love,

        Uncle
        xoxo

      • Dear Uncle,
        That’s going to be my new threat for when Lottie or Scotty come round – ‘COME ANY CLOSER AND I’LL BRICK YOUR GLABELLA!‘ (I LOVE that word – glabella, glabella, glabella)
        Ha ha ha ha ha
        Love Dotty xxx

  7. Dearest, Dotty,

    I also like: “Glabella THIS!”

    Love,
    Uncle
    xoxox

    Reply
  8. That had to feel good. To get that off your chest. Out of your head. That’s what I meant. You didn’t have heartburn. That would just be silly. When I read that I could feel the pain. My head might be starting to hurt. It is very hard to tell with my head. It has a mind of its own.

    Reply
  9. Dear Dotty,
    While I love how you captured the migraine with words, I am sorry you had one. (believe me I get them once in a while and I feel your pain) Migraines are evil!
    -the howler and me

    Reply
  10. This poem makes me howl!

    Reply
  11. So funny!!! Thanks: )

    ~Nina

    Reply
  12. My dear Dotty,

    I just saw this poem only today–kudos! But also sympathies as you obviously know what migraines are like. I never thought of writing a poem to describe my migraines but you’ve done it better than I ever could have. Genius. Simply genius.

    xoxo Mme Weebles

    Reply
  13. This is just about bang on, if you’ll excuse the pun. But I would also add Poo, poo, poo and fxxxxcxg poo because I get that too, too, too. Horrible!

    Reply
  14. Nice x
    My wife suffers from menstrual migraines and has on average about four each cycle. She’s hoping they will cease at menopause.
    D xx

    Reply
  15. Dear Dotty

    I’ve never had a migraine but some so-called poetry has a similar effect on me. I’m glad to report yours does not.,

    Dave xx

    Reply
    • Dear Dave,

      Thank you, I’m pleased to know that. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty

        My wife was so impressed with your poem she got quite carried away.

        When she comes back I’ll ask her to comment herself.

        I remain, madam, your satirical servant

        Davideo Kidd AKA
        Dave xx

      • Dear Dave,

        Where has she been carried away to? I hope it’s not too far, the buses are so unreliable these days.

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty

        That’s the trouble with wives – you can’t find one when you need her then whole harems come along together :)

        I remain, madam, your humble eunuch, I mean servant

        D xx

  1. Ink. Proudly Present: The F***ing Migraine Poem by Dotty Headbanger « Ink.

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

