Dinosaur Eggs And Disheartening Disrespect

 

Today I was going to write about my collections of which I have LOTS and LOTS including two of my most prized objects, my DINOSAUR EGGS found in Montana about 11 years ago and given to me by dear dead Daddy (before he died of course, idiot). After months and months of debate THE FOSSIL BOFFINS suspected the eggs are SAUROPOD EGGS because they were found next to the skeleton of a SAUROPOD. What’s to suspect, FOSSIL BOFFINS? DUH! 

My dear dead Daddy actually gave me FIVE DINOSAUR EGGS but curiosity and scientific experiments involving hammers and drills and great quantities of arsenic based concoctions lost me three of them – in the scientific culinary experiment I attempted to produce a lovely, rare, black fried egg that Russian oligarchs and Chinese zulti-zillionaires would clamour to eat and pay me squidoodles of dosh for but it didn’t quite work out as I’d planned mainly because the DINOSAUR EGGS have become FOSSILISED and are just like BIG HARD BALL-SIZED ROCKS THAT ARE HARD TO OPEN.

Anyway, if you were paying attention at the beginning you’ll have noticed I said I WAS GOING TO write about my collections (and if you weren’t paying attention, why do I waste my time?) but I can’t write about my collections because I’m still reeling in shock at what I saw on telly last night – Amy Winehouse’s FATHER helping to sell one of her dresses on FOUR ROOMS. Granted, the dress had been donated to charity by Miss Winehouse before her death and granted, the dress was being sold by and for the charity – BUT WHAT THE FUCK WAS HER FATHER DOING THERE in the first place, getting his face on telly AGAIN on the back of his dead daughter’s fame, HELPING TO SELL HER CLOTHES? And I read that he said on his Twitter thingy that he’ll be SELLING MORE OF HER CLOTHES (he didn’t say whether or not it will be for charity). She’s hardly cold, at least give it a year before you schlep her clothes round the vulture’s lairs.

What happened to basic decency? And respect for the newly dead? In little Emily’s time people wore BLACK for a year after the death of a loved one and during the mourning period decent intervals of time were expected and adhered to before certain things took place, such as FLOGGING OFF THEIR CLOTHES. What happened to STANDARDS?

The word ‘memorabilia’ was mentioned in reference to the dress. I’m not even going to go there…

But, surprisingly, one of the FOUR ROOMS collectors had a conscience, the fat bloke with glasses who I didn’t used to like but I do now, he refused to make a bid because he said he didn’t feel comfortable, “IT IS TOO SOON.”

Yes, fat bloke with glasses who I didn’t used to like but I do now. It IS too soon.

At least if my scientific culinary experiment had worked it wouldn’t have been MERCENARY and PROFITEERING because my DINOSAUR EGGS are older than ancient, MILLIONS OF YEARS HAVE GONE BY SINCE THEY HAD LIFE IN THEM.

Oh, and the dress made £25,000.

Fucking disgraceful.

 

 

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. clownonfire

     /  March 29, 2012

    Dotty,
    I’m sorry to be highjacking your post like this, but I saved you some tea and Cumberland sausages on this morning’s post, but all the other readers are trying to eat and drink everything before you arrive…
    I don’t know how long I can fight them off…
    Le Clown

    Reply
  2. Scandalous. Not sure if daddy dear had her best interest at heart.

    Reply
  3. That IS disgraceful. Truly sick people. What happened to respect for the dead? Seriously! I know they are gone, but that doesn’t mean we should start capitlizing on it! Damn! I would guarentee that Amy Winehouse would unlikely be pretty upset about it. There hasn’t even been enough time to honor her memory.

    There should be some kind of law preventing family members from capitilizing on another family member’s death shortly after. In Pennsylvania, the child or would-be inheriter of a property cannot put their elderly into a home until 4 years as elapsed between tranfer of the deed and the time the elder was placed into care.

    Though that puts some people in a serious financial detriment, it protects elders from being kicked out of their homes unfairly.

    I realize that Amy Winehouse was not an elder, so none of that would be applicable. That isn’t the point. The point is that there should be laws that prevent such disgrace, like they did about desecrating graves.

    Reply
    • Dear Lulu,

      He said something along the lines of ‘She would have wanted this’ – I can’t remember his exact words – but how the fuck does he know what she’d have wanted. He didn’t profit from the sale of the dress, it belonged to the charity which raises money for terminally ill children – I just don’t understand why they couldn’t have waited.

      Oh, and the father and mother have gained £3 million from her will. So hopefully they won’t feel the need to sell off or condone the selling off of her other clothes.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  4. And so unnecessary… Now, thanks to the magic of Photoshop, we can all dress up in Amy’s clothes whenever we want to… Just sayin’

    Reply
  5. Dorothy

     /  March 29, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    I agree 100%, it’s not right. I haven’t even touched my husband’s items yet as it hasn’t been a year and I might not do anything after that either. I may make a shrine out of everything that was his.
    By the way, I like the photo of your front door although I envisioned the bricks being red bricks. Effective no matter what the color!
    Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,
      I’ll let you into a secret – that’s not MY door, it’s just A door – my door’s bricked up with proper red bricks, the one in the picture is breeze-blocked. I didn’t want to put a picture of my own door on my blog in case anyone recognised it.
      Love Dotty xxx
      P.S. That’s part of what I can’t understand about the father appearing on telly, condoning the sale of the dress – normal people need time before they can even consider parting with anything.

      Reply
  6. Daddy Winehouse must be related to Daddy Jackson, or any number of tennis dads whose sole purpose is to sit in the stands witha calculator in one hand, a glass of Dom in the other while shrieking derogatory remarks at their daughters and punching spectators in the face.
    Fathers….sheesh….

    Reply
  7. Dear Dotty,

    Disgraceful is the word. Amy had such interesting style, and she was unafraid. She wasn’t like that GaGa woman, where all SHE wants to do is shock. Amy was herself, and look what she got for it. Her fucking father selling her fucking clothes on a fucking TV program. AAAAaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    I’d love to see a shot of the dinosaur eggs if you get a chance.

    I hope you are feeling okay, and that your visit with Emily was free of tension.

    Love you,

    Judith

    Reply
    • Dear Judith,
      I don’t own a camera (instruments of Beelzebub) so I can’t take a picture of my dinosaur eggs or anything else.
      I’m feeling fine now, thank you, how are you?
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  8. kzackuslheureux

     /  March 30, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Um, I still wan to read all about the Dino eggs…
    Haven’t you heard by now ALL good things come from Montana? My husband finally figured that out the far too long way.
    Anyway, I thought about you today. My Englishman neighbor took me out for lunch, and told me about how awful service was in England, then it dawned on me, ‘That’s why Dotty is a she-hermit!’
    Love,
    Alphabet

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

