A Dotty Short Story About A Zoo

 

Today I’m going to write a story about a zoo but I don’t know who should tell it -

1  the lion

2  the ostrich

3  the penguin

4  the bear

The zookeeper is also an option, he knows everything that happens in the zoo but he doesn’t know what the animals THINK which would be a problem.

 

I am doing 3 – the penguin.

 

THE PENGUIN

Once upon a time there was a penguin.

What else can I put?

Once upon a time there was a cold penguin who lived in the cold. He was cold. His penguin wife was cold, his penguin kids were cold, his penguin mother was cold, his penguin father was cold, his penguin brother was cold, his penguin sisters were cold, they were all cold, but they huddled together in a big group like it showed on that penguin film when all the mothers fucked off and left the FATHERS in charge of the kids, what’s THAT all about, MRS PENGUIN, why don’t you stay with your kids? No one’s saying you can’t have a job or a social life but it’s a well known fact that when a child is ill the one person in the world it wants is its MUM. And what happens when MUM isn’t there? I’ll tell you what happens –

ABANDONMENT ISSUES

REJECTION ISSUES

ANGER ISSUES

ATTACHMENT ISSUES

SELF-ESTEEM ISSUES

CONFIDENCE ISSUES

NEUROSIS

HYSTERICAL HISSY FITS

THUGGERY

SLUTTERY

WIFE BATTERY

HUSBAND BATTERY 

 SERIAL KILLERY

TYRANNICAL MASS MURDERY ON AN INTERNATIONAL SCALERY

 

THE END

 

Oh, I didn’t want it to be a sad story, I wanted it to be happy, I wanted the little penguins to dance with their happy little feet and be warm and cosy and safe.

Why does life have to be so cruel?

 

 

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. Grumpy

     /  March 30, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    That was brilliant!
    I want more zoo stories!

    Reply
  2. Dear Dotty,

    You do have a way of getting to the kernel of truth that is most important — in this case, cold! I think you should print up a whole bunch of copies, and send them to Antarctica, so the mother penguins can be shamed into staying around. Isn’t that what they should be doing? Terrific post!

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
    • Dear Judith,
      Thank you. I don’t think it would make any difference, they’re cold-hearted witches who have no shame. They shouldn’t be allowed to have kids in the first place.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,

        But then what would the world do for penguins? Surely, if we could just talk to them, they’ll mend their wicked ways and come home to those fluffy little penguin babies.

        I hope all is well with you, and that you are in the middle of a terrific day!

        Love,

        Judith

      • Dear Judith,

        I don’t think they will – I think part of why they bugger off in the first place is because they’re trying to emasculate the male penguins.

        Yes, thank you – the sun is shining, I’ve got the back door open to let in some fresh air and let out the smell of a winter’s worth of Cumberland sausages, little birds are tweeting and the only thing bothering me is the sound of a lawn mower because it’s hurting my ears but I’m putting up with it because the fresh air is nice. How is your morning? :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  3. “TYRANNICAL MASS MURDERY ON AN INTERNATIONAL SCALERY”

    007 was a penguin?

    Reply
    • Dear John,
      Yes. His real name was Paul (the Penguin). He was a master of disguise but if you look closely at Daniel Craig’s eyes you’ll see they’re a COLD BLUE colour.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  4. Dorothy

     /  March 30, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Exactly!!! Blame the mothers!…wait a minute…I’m a mother…..but it’s true. Just look at all of those Disney movies for example, the mothers are no where to be found they’re either dead or ran off (usually dead)…what’s up with that? Still, I want to hear more, especially in a monkey house….true lunacy!!!
    Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,
      I wrote The Monkey House this afternoon but I can’t post it, one of the Spectacled Langurs forgot his spectacles and tore up the story because he couldn’t read it.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  5. clownonfire

     /  March 30, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Add a Jonsi soundtrack and your readers will make it a happy post.
    True story.
    Your #1 fan,
    Le Clown

    Reply
  6. you forgot about TWINKIE ADDICTION…..

    Reply
  7. Thank you for leaving out the ostrich… Jessica has an irrational fear of them.

    Reply
  8. Dear Dotty,
    Slutty, neglectful mama-guins are my kind of people.
    Abandoningly yours
    Sara

    Reply
  9. This is very good Dotty. I enjoyed your little story. Indeed a sad one, but nonetheless a real one. Reality sux. Sometimes. Let me know if you need pictures for your Monkey House story okay. Have a great day Dotty ♥

    Reply
  10. Dear Dotty,

    Best. Story. Ever. Now do the lion!!!!

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
    • Dear owl,
      Thank you. I’m too scared to do the lion story after what happened to The Monkey House story I wrote earlier.
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,

        I understand. Especially given that there would need to be a lot of raw meat involved, as well as plenty of roaring, which could trigger a migraine. But . . . whenever I think of lovely beautiful lions I wish so much that I could smell their paws. *SIGH*

        Love,
        Owl

      • Dear owl,
        But the paws would smell of raw meat too. And there’d probably still be some chunks of torn up antelope in their toenails.
        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,

        I know, but context is everything. LION PAWS. Also they would smell of grass. Vetiver-y.

        Love,
        Owl

      • Dear owl,
        They’d still smell of antelope. Or zebra -poor little zebra.
        Love Dotty xxx

  11. kzackuslheureux

     /  March 31, 2012

    Dearest Dotty,
    One of my all time favorites! You darling you!
    Love Truly,
    Alphabet.

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

