Oops, I Did It Again

 

Don’t get too excited, Britney Spears hasn’t hacked into my blog – it’s still me, your little Dotty, but once again I haven’t written a post because nothing’s happened. This is a side effect of Hermititis and People Phobia, most of the time it’s too boring for words and today is one of those times. I can’t think of anything to write about and if I could it would be just as boring as the twaddle I’m writing now, the hackneyed old cliched pile of shite about not having anything to write about.

This is one of the downsides of just sitting down to write and pressing publish when I’ve finished – I never have any back-up posts, in fact the idea of back-up posts hadn’t entered my head until I saw it mentioned in someone’s blog a few weeks ago, then I noticed that lots of people do it – but how can I do back-up posts when I can’t even think of ONE?

 

AAAAAAARRRGGGGHHH!!

No it didn’t work. I thought an idea might fly out with the scream.

 

the cat sat on the mat – the cat sat on the mat (advice from Dodie Smith)

Nope, nothing.

 

Except — my face towel was a bit rough this morning, I’ll have to use more fabric conditioner next time I do the washing.

 

I should have just wrote another absence note.

 

Oh-oh-oh — I did do something, I had a tidy up of my blog pages and put things into lists and made it neater. I did it this morning when I was trying to think of a post. Did anyone notice? No, I didn’t think so.

 

I should just shut up, shouldn’t I?

 

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. I can’t write backup posts either. As soon as I have one done, sitting down to write stops being a priority, and then I use my backup…

    Reply
    • Dear Victor,

      I’ve never written a back-up. Maybe if I miss a day of posting (and reading other people’s blogs) I could get to do a post AND a back-up. Hmmm.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  2. Dearest Dotty – Sometimes the thinking is hard. Have another shot of laundanum and see if that helps. Or you could always do what I do when I have little to say – post pics or links to your favorite youtube vids. Always worth a shot.

    Love,
    Mental Mama

    Reply
    • Dear Mental Mama,

      I’m totally useless with pictures, I tried doing a picture post last night and I fucked it right up.

      Laudanum always helps. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  3. Dear Dotty,

    Please don’t feel like you have to be on all the time. When you are on, you are so ON, maybe you just need a rest. Also, starting out to write backup posts rarely works — but if you are working on an idea, and it isn’t quite there, put it in your backup file, and when the time comes, you can polish and post with very little effort.

    We are all layal followers — you aren’t going to lose us! Unless you get normal, that is! 8-)

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
    • Dear Judith,

      I don’t think there’s much danger of me becoming normal any time soon. :-)

      I think I’m scared of getting wordy block again – I still have it in certain areas – filling in forms or even writing a shopping list can take me days, silly as that sounds (I have one important form that I received three weeks ago still sitting unopened on my worktop – it frightens the life out of me every time I look at it).

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,

        Maybe you need a different cue — “Scotty is being snotty,” or “Cumberland Sausages are terrific because…” I’d like to read that post. Hang in there, sweetie!

        Love,

        Judith 8-)

      • Dear Judith,

        Thank you. 8-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  4. Dear Dotty,
    I have heard somewhere Fake it til you make it…. in this instance, writing about not writing = good. :)
    Love,
    -the howler and me

    Reply
  5. Dorothy

     /  April 19, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    No, don’t shut up. I enjoy these posts the same as all your other posts because then my brain doesn’t feel lonely. I sit at my kitchen table listening to my washing machine, watching my father sleeping, wondering what to write about too. That’s why my blog remains empty so many days, at least yours is interesting. Although mine does have a seal pup mascot who does thank you for the rain water!! So, I steal ideas from my fellow bloggers but I give them credit. Yet, if I was you and had to tolerate alll of that endless rain I would be laying on the floor with a paddle ball by now. Don’t know how you do it.
    Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,

      You’ve just made me laugh again at the thought of the seal pup. Thank you. :-)

      The rain was banging at my windows this morning and the noise was bad, it’s maybe why I couldn’t concentrate enough (hyperacusis & tinnitus)- but I can mostly zone out and into the little world of my blog even if the washer’s on in the kitchen. I don’t know, it’s probably just one of those days.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  6. Dear Dotty,

    I know all about the anxiety of not posting every day–I also get anxiety when I post every day though, so . . .

    But yours make good rereading anyway, and I always come visit and I will not be disappointed if you do not make a post. Backup posts seem a bit contrived to me. Even jotting down ideas for drafts (which I do often) is weird–the ideas lose their freshness and urgency.

    And anyway, your blog is FOR YOU first, know what I mean? Just be yourself!

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
    • Dear owl,

      I’m more anxious about the use it or lose it side of not writing every day than about the blog itself. I think I might take a day or two off and see if I can light the little spark again.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  7. Grumpy

     /  April 19, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    I bet you can cook up some amazing ZOO stories like the last one. I really enjoyed that one wot you did. I want another to tell my grand kids.
    Grumpy x

    Reply
  8. It is reassuring to find out that hermits can be as boring as the rest of us, at least for short periods of time. I always assumed they were partying it up in those mountain caves.

    Reply
  9. Hmm…which problem? The alcohol or the having stories told about them? Cause I bet our Dotty has the second one…and if not, I think I’ll have to make it so. It’ll be my Dotty Duty!

    Ooh, ooh…I know an answer to the No Post Problem…you can do “come as you are” days, only in this case it’d be “write as you are”…if that doesn’t make any sense, just ask, you know I can ramble on about my own shite/shit/fewmets for hours and hours…or at least a page or two.

    Kitsune-na-shiteki, American Poet Laureate 1/2

    Reply
    • Dear KC,
      Make what so? What Dotty Duty? I’m scared now!
      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Telling lie…I mean stories about you! It’s a usual Dotty Hermit thing. As a matter of fact, I’ll bet you’re already a neighborhood legend…what with the bricked up front door and all. ;) But, I still take it as my solemn Duty, for you, our Dotty…to tell tails…I mean tales…about you! *bows*

        KS

      • Dear KC,
        Just sent you a gmail email about your book.
        Love Dotty xxx

      • Awesome sauce! *kiss* You are my very favorite Hermit of all time ever, you know that? I sent you a reply…

        KC & Co.

      • But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be scared… :)

        KS

      • Dear KC,

        Ah, I get it now. sorry, I’ve been up all night, my poor little brain is knackered.

        Love Dotty xxx

  10. Yes! You finally put an archives thingy.

    Reply
  11. Nope, no backup posts fo rme, either. But I do have a ton of drafts. Well, a ton of draft titles, anyway.

    Reply
    • Dear paralaxvu,

      I just looked and I’ve got 3 drafts, one that I practise doing pictures on (a waste of time) and two with titles and nothing in the body of the draft.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

