A Poemy Thing For My Fellow She-Hermits & She-Mentals

 

sisters of ice

 

many are the sisters of ice

who crave the warmth of a dark, solitary cave,

hidden deep in the heart of a far-away mountain

swathed in the plushest, lushest greens.

but all that surrounds them is white,

everywhere white, and clarity blinds to a haze,

rendering useless the attempts of whatever sight,

whatever far-reaching gaze they might once have known.

 

out in the cruellest elements they do not survive. 

there are no directions, no guides to show the way, 

no place to hide themselves for just one restful, longed-for day.

their cries unite to pierce the frozen air

and skim the distance with an easy, lazy grace,

a grace so beautiful it flickers on the eye of the soul,

shining diamond-like in this sad, mad world of silhouetted woes.

 

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Dear Dotty,

    I salute you, my dear friend. Your imagery is so powerful — I can only hope to reach your level someday. This is a poignant, lovely piece.

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
    • Dear Judith,

      Cheers, m’dear. Thank you.
      I love what I’ve read of yours so far … your teen ones were like mine now!! 8-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  2. There are times when I wonder if I have a soul.
    I see the words of poetry, contemplate their meaning.
    Beautiful words create consciousness altering energy,
    But between contemplation and comprehension is a plague of black fog, enshrouding my mind.
    Beauty of the word is lost.
    Zombies win.

    Reply
  3. Dear Dotty,
    Love it!
    Love from your Southern She-Mental HS
    xox

    Reply
  4. Dorothy

     /  April 20, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    excellent, excellent…..you can’t hear my clapping but it’s there…a superb, visual piece!
    Dorothy

    Reply
  5. kzackuslheureux

     /  April 20, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    I know you’re a She-hermit and all, but I think you have a great many faces.
    Love, Alphabet

    Reply
  6. Dotty Dotty
    Why the frown?
    “Burned my family’s
    Farmhouse down,
    Hanged my sister.
    Stabbed my mum
    Now I’ve a
    Hangnail
    On my thumb!”

    Reply
    • Dear dags,

      Daggy, Daggy,
      pick it off,
      use your teeth
      and don’t be soft.
      A little hangnail
      on your thumb
      is better than a big one
      on your bum.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  7. You’ve come a long, long way, ice ice baby… (Those references may be before your time and too American to make sense, but trust me, it’s funny)…

    Reply
  8. Excellent!
    I love it!
    :)

    Reply
  9. nonsense on the “shitey” business
    thanx

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

