Help! Why Has The Like Button Suddenly Appeared On My Pages?

 

I’ve never had a Like button on my pages and no one else has either and I probably wouldn’t have noticed WordPress have added one if I hadn’t seen in my notifications that someone pressed Like on my title page which is called

**************** (and a few more)

A Like button on my pages is fine, it doesn’t bother me, EXCEPT on my title page – I disabled comments and shares on that page to keep it as a clean title page so does anyone know how to disable Likes on just the ONE page without disabling them altogether, please? I can’t find an option for it in the editing thingy.

 

Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. Dear Dotty,
    The opposite happened to me. All my likes in posts had disappeared. But they eventually came back. Maybe yours will eventually go. It’s 2:20 am here and I’m fidgeting–can’t really sleep. I really should go try again, really try this time.
    Love Xoxoxxx

    Reply
  2. Try going to the edit “Reading” section or edit the page itself. It should have some sort of option disable for pages.

    Reply
  3. Gday Dotty,

    When ya find out, let me know please.

    John

    Reply
    • Dear John,

      Will do. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear John,

        In Settings – Sharing there’s an option to turn Likes on for all posts or per post. I clicked it and it took away all the Likes already on all of my posts – there’s no way I’m going through every single post to turn the Likes back on just so I can have one page without them. I’ll have to put up with it, I suppose.

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Cheers Dotty

        Surely there’s a default to have them all on and you turn them off when ya want. I’ll look into it when i get to my laptop and let ya know in return.

        John

      • Dear John,

        Thanks. I thought that’s what would happen when I selected ‘per post’, instead it did the opposite.

        Love Dotty xxx

  4. I’ve had a Like button since I started… I like having it, it lets me know people have stopped by, even if they don’t want to leave a message. And it allows me to do the same thing.

    Reply
    • Dear flamidwyfe,

      I like the Like button too, I’ve always had it on posts but this is the first time it’s appeared on my pages. Must be a new thing WordPress have done – and I like it, I just want to disable Likes on one particular page.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  5. There is a like thing in Sharing under settings but it doesan;t seem to let you turn them off?

    Reply
    • Dear Joe,

      You can turn them off but it turns them all off on every post and page.

      When you Quick Edit a page there’s an option to turn off Comments on that one page without it affecting the others – I hope they do a little tick box for Likes too.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  6. Dear Dotty,

    Good morning! I’m glad you found what you did, because I wouldn’t know how to find it. I did stop getting emails for every Like, though. Good for you for figuring it out! I’m still working on your award — I can’t upload, won’t cut and paste, went through every media option, and it won’t even go in. I will find it, though.

    I’m leaving for work in a little while, so I’ll see you later.

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  7. I think WordPress had a hiccup. Or hiccough. Whatever.

    But I do like having a Like button so that I can indicate goodness or agreement even when I haven’t a thing to say besides “that’s awesome.”

    Reply
    • Dear DeeDee,

      Me too, I’m happy the Like button is now on pages as well as posts, it’s just my title page I don’t want it on because it spoils the look of it (I’m so vain).

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  8. Like buttons are contagious, like chicken pox. First they show up on one post, then before you know it, they’re everywhere.

    Reply
  9. free penny press

     /  April 24, 2012

    Hi Dotty,
    Hmm that is odd. I’ved always had the “like” button on my pages..Wordpress must be spring cleaning or something.

    Reply
  10. bpshielsy

     /  April 24, 2012

    Sorry…I really couldn’t help myself

    Reply
  11. You get extra like buttons because there are not enough of them for us all to tell you how much we like you…

    Reply
  12. I was wondering last night why you had one lone person that liked the main page. Today you are up to 5. I almost pushed it to drive you more mental but hey, I like you too much to do that to you….Are you sure Simon didn’t do it from the other side since you are picking on him this week? ;-)

    Reply
  13. I’d “Like” to do away with the whole “Like” feature…it’s rather Facebook-y. The other day I had my biggest day of hits ever. It was satisfying like stereotypical Chinese food, insofar as it left me hungry for more 15 minutes later. The really sad part was that despite my new high for “hits”, my “Likes” were still very low. Apparently lots and lots of people read my writing that day, but not all that many of them “liked” it. Maybe my writing sucks, or maybe that little “Like” button does.

    Reply
    • Dear 1point,

      You’re right, it doesn’t give a true picture of how many people are reading – for the past three days I’ve had consistently higher views than I’ve ever had consecutively but fewer Likes than I was getting last week. I don’t mind though, I’m just pleased people ARE reading even if they don’t click the Like button for whatever reason, whether they hate my stuff, or they just don’t want to. I don’t go on Facebook, I have it but I only look at it if I get a notification in my email so I can’t compare it with here.

      Love Dotty xxx

      P.S. Your writing doesn’t suck.

      Reply
      • Thank you for the compliment, it took a few more keystrokes than just clicking “Like” and that made it all the more precious.

      • Dear 1point,

        I have to say that I never just click Like on something for the sake of it – if I don’t like it I don’t click it. A lot of the time I can’t think of anything to say to put in a comment (brain-fog) but I want to ‘tell’ the writer that I’ve read and liked their post, so that’s how I use the Like button.

        What I dislike about Like is when you get notified that someone has liked a post but there’s no change in your viewing figures so the person who liked the post hasn’t been anywhere near your blog. I don’t know how that works, I visit each blog to read a post.

        Love Dotty xxx

      • It all seems rather arbitrary. I know what you mean about the phenomenon of liking a post but being stumped as what to write in the comments section. I should follow your example and just hit like instead of prattling on like a magpie.

      • Dear 1point,

        Learn to love the Like button. It’s your friend. ;-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  14. Dear Dotty, If you don’t mind, I’m going to go ahead and Like this. xoxo Mme Weebles

    Reply
    • Dear Mme Weebles,

      No I don’t mind at all, and thank you very much, you can do it again whenever the urge takes you. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

