Down In My Air Raid Shelter, Then Back Up Again, Now I’m Going Back Down

 

Last night I was down in my Air Raid shelter all night with my brick, thinking about the busy human world above me and everything that goes on in it - 

births

marriages

deaths

celebrations

business

arguments

accidents

love at first sight

kisses

slaps

singing

dancing

beatings

murders

new love

old love

celebrity

poverty

crime

shagging

house buying

clothes buying

food buying

buying, buying, buying, buying

illnesses

gods

wars 

starvation

tears

neglect

destruction

school life

work life

family life

traffic on roads and motorways and seas and skies, cars, lorries, bikes, boats, planes, the rich and the not-so-rich speeding to where they want to be to get what they want to get while the poor endure or die

and I thought it’s all a load of shite, isn’t it? A big shitey web of shite.

 

I came back upstairs early this morning and opened the back door and the world STINKS, it stinks of the shite being spread on the fields down the road, the stinking fat farmer spreading his stinking SHITE and for what? To feed the greedy, more, more, more, me, me, me.

 

 

I want to be a tree.

A tree is a tree is a tree.

It doesn’t pretend to be anything else.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. Dear Dotty,

    You are a tree. You are my dogwood, blossoming in the evening as the sky goes dark blue and the air stops to soften because it can’t help its sweetness, and a raven flies from the hill in front over the Gary Oaks behind, posturing with its loud wings for the smaller birds, who take up the alarm, worrying my big old marmy jellyfish, all confused atop the yellow cedar privacy fence, me scarfing chickpeas and kale below smiling nonsensically as I stand in the outside, checking my knees, disbelieving my arguments, dropping words off the railing, rubbing chipped porcelain with my thumb, wondering where life went, trying to form a sentence, and watching the dogwood racing dusk as it comes to claim blooms and sweet air during the accidental distraction of evening.

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
  2. Dear Dotty.
    Yes. Here you seem to see the world the way it is, once hope and aspiration and endeavour is disabled. But those things are real too in a way.

    Reply
  3. Dear dotty,
    We can be a human-tree and take some one in our shelter! Like pay for a kid’s school fee or donate blood, or take a patient under our wings. I learnt that from my father. And if we have nothing to give, we can give our time. I just took my maid’s son for physiotherapy sessions, and boy, the joy of seeing the smile on the child’s face!
    Love,
    Habiba.

    Reply
  4. Dear Dotty,
    A tree may be a tree, but unless it is outside someone needs to care for it….
    I have a couple trees in my apartment… i try and take good care of them…
    Love,
    -the howler and me

    Reply
  5. Dotty, if we were trees, we’d be cut down and made into toilet paper.

    Reply
  6. Dear Dotty,
    If I was a tree I’d be worried about some shitey bastard coming along and chopping me down with a big axe and making me into a table. Make sure you are a tree in a protected forest so no one does that to you.
    Love HS xox

    Reply
  7. Dorothy

     /  April 26, 2012

    Why thank you. Me and my trees appreciate that!

    Reply
  8. We have palm trees here in Orlando,Florida. They are very nice, although not too shady. What kind of tree would you be?

    Reply
  9. kzackuslheureux

     /  April 26, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    I saw you wrote “shagging” AND “accidents” I totaqlly thought they ended up being the same thing, “family life.” hmmm, I’ll have to ponder that, in the mean time, until you figure out how to be a tree (and please pass that wisdom along when you have it) I say we we pop the fat cat’s gut and make it bleed out it’s ugly innards all over their plush new carpet!
    Or something nice like that.
    Love, Alphabet

    Reply
  10. Dick Cheney was a tree once… I saw a picture of him…
    And add puberty to the list. That keeps people busy for years.

    Reply
  11. I love it Dotty. It is very clever and true. I wish I could be a tulip.
    Have a great day Dotty and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
  12. As Barbara Walters would ask… “what type of tree would you be?”

    Reply
  13. Something bugging you today Dotty?

    Reply
  14. It may be shite. But trees just love having a lot of shite for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And a tree doesn’t get to read your posts and laugh. Dottikins, you left out joy, delight, astonishment, and the pleasure of finding money you left in your winter coat last year.

    Reply
  15. Are you going to write a book?
    Dotty Dear, you are brilliant, in a genius sort of way.
    xo mag

    Reply
  16. Dearest Dotty,
    It is a pretty shitey, mucky web on the surface.
    You and many others add colour to the grey.
    I love you just the way you are.
    *squishy hugs*
    Veggiewitch ♥

    Reply
  17. Dear Dotty,

    Such a powerful post! Have a couple of Cumberland sausages, and let your four walls comfort you a little!

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  18. Hey Dotty,

    I agree sort of. I don’t think I would actually want to be a tree, but I do enjoy hanging out among them. They don’t care who you are or aren’t or what your life is like and if you find the right places there is no one else to care either. Just the trees, animals, and peace. Sometimes I think I would like to do my own version of what the guy from Into The Wild did…

    -The Dead Guy

    Reply
  19. Amen. Love it, love it, love it. That pretty much sums up all the shit about.

    Reply
  20. Dear Everybody,

    Thank you.
    It’s not often I don’t reply to every comment but today I’m in a bit of a strange situation and I can’t.
    But thank you very, very much.

    Love Dotty xxx

    Reply
  21. Dear Everyone,

    I’m sorry I can’t reply.
    I feel horrible not replying.
    Guilty and shameful.
    And neglectful.
    I’m sorry.
    I AM sorry.

    I’M VERY VERY VERY SORRY.

    Love Dotty xxx

    Reply
  22. Dear Everyone,

    I’m sorry.

    Love Dotty xxx

    Reply
  23. trees give. they give shade, oxygen, fruit, beauty. they only take what they need, and then they use it to give more. if only we could all strive to be like trees…

    Reply
    • Dear tlct,

      Hello and welcome. This morning I didn’t reply to anyone on this post so I’m very, very sorry but I can’t reply to your comment either because it wouldn’t be fair of me. ;-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  24. bpshielsy

     /  April 28, 2012

    How do you know a tree doesn’t pretend? They may all be shrubs in disguise!

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

