The Unbearable Shiteness Of Being Mental

 

In the old days of Magnus Magnusson being quizmaster on Mastermind he used to say ‘I’ve started so I’ll finish,’ if the buzzer interrupted his delivery of a question. Well good for you, Magnus, and everyone else who can see things through to completion because I fucking well can’t.

It goes like this –

I’ve started so I’ll finish.

I’ve started and there’s a slight possibility I won’t finish when I want to finish.

I’ve started and I’ll finish tomorrow.

I’ve started and I’ve got a quarter of the way through but I don’t know what to do next.

I’ve started and the complications are coming in thick and fast.

I’ve started and I’ve ballsed it right up somewhere along the line but I don’t know where.

I’ve started and I’M TRYING MY FUCKING BEST, WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT?

I’ve started and waffle, waffle, waffle, blah, blah, blah.

I’ve started and I’ve lost all interest in it, it’s boring me.

I’ve started and I’ll file it away till my brain starts working again.

I’ve started and I’ll NEVER, EVER finish because I NEVER FINISH ANYTHING I’VE STARTED.

 

Why do I even bother?

 

EDIT EDIT EDIT – I forgot to add this one –

I’ve started and I’ve deleted it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

60 Comments

  1. I’m right there with you today. Only I can’t even seem to start anything. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

    Reply
  2. Dear Dotty,

    Gads, that’s exactly it.

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
  3. Sounds like how I do things…. :P

    Reply
  4. Dorothy

     /  May 2, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    That’s why part of my kitchen has old wallpaper and part of my kitchen has no wallpaper. Maybe I’ll finish it in three years…..maybe.
    Love Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,

      I’ve lived here for five years and I’ve only decorated one room and slapped a bit of paint on the kitchen.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dorothy

         /  May 2, 2012

        Dear Dotty,
        Please, don’t discount the hard work that went into bricking up the front door!!
        Now that my front porch is gone I was seriously thinking of a moat but it’s just too much hard work for me.
        Love Dorothy

      • Dear Dorothy,

        But I didn’t finish bricking up the front door, Scotty did it.

        Make your moat a bit at a time, one little pond then another little pond so that if you don’t ever finish it, you’ll have some nice little ponds instead.

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dorothy

         /  May 3, 2012

        Dear Dotty,
        That is a very good idea! I had been thinking about making a water garden this year anyway. I can start out front! Thank you!
        Love Dorothy

      • Dear Dorothy,

        You’re welcome. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

        P.S. You can come and do my garden if you want, it’s a right mess since I haven’t been out in it. :-(

      • Dorothy

         /  May 3, 2012

        Thank you Dotty!

      • Dear Dorothy,

        You’re welcome. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  5. Yep. I can add “I’ve started and what the hell was I thinking.”

    Best regards

    Reply
  6. Dear Dotty,

    Yes, I’m familiar with this train of thought, it happens to me quite frequently. Have some Cumberland sausages, maybe they’ll make you feel better.

    xoxo Mme Weebles

    Reply
  7. It’s like you are reading my mind…

    Reply
  8. Dear Dotty,

    If you don’t want to start and not finish, start at the end and work over your own shoulders. You can do it! 8-) Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  9. For reasons that are obscure even to myself, your post reminds me of a song: Hello, I Must Be Going. Affirmation and denial, all in one tidy existential package. Sing along, Dottie. Hooray, hooray, hooray!

    Reply
    • Dear Dags,

      Hooray, hooray, hooray!

      Love Dotty xxx

      P.S. When I last danced like that I fell over and my knee popped out of its kneehole.

      Reply
  10. I finished breakfast today. That and a sentence. Finished one of those. But that’s about all. Quiet good at starting things that will never get finished though. Almost like a superpower for me. Definitely not finished with that. Glad to know I am not the only one with that problem. Makes me feel closer to normal, whatever that is.

    -The Dead Guy

    Reply
    • Dear Dead Guy,

      I think you have other, far worse problems if anything I say makes you feel closer to normal. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dotty,

        I like to think of them not as problems, but the things that make my life more interesting than those around me.

        -The Dead Guy

      • Dear Dead Guy,

        Hmmm. I might try and adopt that way of thinking. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  11. Dear Dotty,
    Can I add “I’ve started but I can’t be arsed”.
    Thank you.
    I can’t be arsed to write my name…….

    Reply
  12. an excellent post with a brilliant title!

    Reply
  13. I really enjoyed reading your post. I felt like

    Reply
  14. sorry…didn’t get around to finish my comment. Something bright and shiny distracted me and I’ve lost my train of thought.

    Reply
  15. Dear Dotty,
    My favorite one is “I’ve started …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Wait, what was I doing?”
    Love,
    -the howler and me

    Reply
  16. I feel like eating a waffle now.

    Reply
  17. I have a bad habit of starting 12 things at once and then getting so overwhelmed that I do not finish anythi
    ;)

    Reply
  18. bpshielsy

     /  May 4, 2012

    As I’m writing this post I find…

    Reply
  19. Dear Dotty – false starts and partial projects abound in my little world. Maybe I’ll get to unpacking those moving boxes before my third year in this “new” house begins. Cheers!

    TWTG

    Reply
    • Dear twtg,

      I know how you feel – when I moved out of my last house after 10 years of living there I had boxes that I hadn’t opened from the house before that.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  20. This is me all over. Boxes of stuff (real and metaphorical) that I collect, don’t deal with and then just accumulate. I’m great at starting stuff, top marks. After that it’s a downhill slide. Love this blog, thanks for posting it!

    Reply
  1. Two Awards in One! « Someone Fat Happened

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

