One More (Patrick Street – Irish Folk Band)

I can’t help it. I think I’m in a hypomusic phase – it’ll wear off soon.

I went to a Patrick Street concert years ago when they played here. Our concert hall is only little so it was brilliant – great view of the stage, aisle seat for me (so I could escape if I had to), lovely acoustics – it was FANTASTIC. The thing I remember most about it was hearing Music For A Found Harmonium for the first time and watching little JACKIE DALY sitting on the stage playing it on his accordion. I bought the cd after the concert – until last year when the ear thingy started I played this tune almost every day.

 

 

 

 

.

Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. Hey, can’t watch the vid, but my new poem features a Romanian accordion player.

    Reply
  2. Dear Dotty,
    WOW! that is some great music!
    Love,
    -the howler and me

    Reply
    • Dear the howler and me,

      It is, isn’t it? The funny noises at just over 2 minutes are Jackie Daly going ‘wwhhrrrreeeee’ or however you’d write it – made everyone laugh at the concert because he pulled a funny face when he did it. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  3. Very nice. I would normally never click on a music link, since my tastes are finicky and odd, but since it was you, i took a leap of faith. Thanks.

    Reply
    • Dear 1point,

      Trust me, all the music I like is good – if people don’t like it that’s their bad taste. ;-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • good point. There’s a surplus of people around me who pine for all things Irish, while some of the music is very enjoyable, some of it is as unpleasant as that of any other demographic.

      • Dear 1point,

        I know. I dislike more of it than I like.

        Love Dotty xxx

  4. Dotty,
    Awesome!!!
    Lis
    p.s…gonna try to download it on itunes. Wish me luck!!!
    xoxox

    Reply
  5. ZZZZZZZZ……ZZZZZZZZZ……..ZZZZZZZZZ

    Reply
  6. I like this piece — I think I’ve heard it before. More music Dotty, yes! Now that you know how…

    Reply
    • Dear Swordy,

      I will. But I won’t post it in posts, I’ll put on my music pages – that’s what I say today – tomorrow might be different. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  7. Ha! I’ve got a copy of this. Good taste Miss Dotty and no mistake. And, as I’m not at work tomorrow it’s Cumberland sausages for breakfast. Another good taste :)

    Reply
  8. Dear Dotty,

    The English and Irish in me are both back a few generations. Nevertheless, it is appealing, in its own way!

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply
  9. Music in an Irish pub is the BEST!

    Reply
  10. If you like Patrick Street, you might like these two tunes from my tin whistle teacher, Mary Bergin. I took lessons from her for two years when I lived in Galway. Lovely person, great teacher. Her first CD is the gold standard for whistle playing.

    Reply
    • Dear Dags,

      Ooooooo — You just sent me hunting round for my whistles and I found them!!! (I had a go at playing something but I can’t now, too much for my ears). I tried to teach myself a few years ago, loved it, bought a few decent whistles and a friend made one for me out of copper piping (perfect D!, lovely and airy, sounds much like the Shaw’s D, one of my favourites at the time!!!). I’d have loved to have had the opportunity to be taught by an expert. Do you still play?

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • I can still manage a tune, and I hear them in my head all the time. As Micho Russell used to say, ‘Tis not often I play them but ’tis often I think of them.’ At some point Mary is coming out with a whistle tutor and when she does, it will be the best one available.

      • Dear Dags,

        If I could still play I’d get it when she brings it out.

        Love Dotty xxx

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

