Wordy Block Is Returning And I’m Fucking Useless So This Post Is A Big Moaning Whingey Whine-Fest About NOTHING. Ignore It – I Would.

 

I don’t know what to write. It’s been happening more and more in the last few weeks, hence the NOTHING post and the real nothing yesterday (apart from the Big Blog Stats on the other blog but that’s just copying and pasting) and all the shite and pictures and more shite (which is nothing new because THIS WHOLE BLOG is made up of shite, but at least I used to be able to fill up a page with it). Little Emily has deserted me, Kumblant dog-fuck has disappeared to where ever he’s disappeared to, and NOTHING HAPPENS IN THIS FUCKING HOUSE FOR ME TO WRITE ABOUT. I eat Cumberland sausages, I spend HOURS of quality time with my brick, I see Branwell a couple of times a week – AND THAT’S IT. And I’ve told you those things UMPTEEN TIMES and I’m bored of telling you, and if I’M bored then you must be fucking comatose by now.

I joined Pinterest the other day to make some pretty picture boards thinking that if I had something else to piss around with it might distract me from not knowing what to write and guess what? I CAN’T WORK THE FUCKING THING. How hard can it be? Everyone does it. It’s linked to stupid Facebook and it took me AN HOUR AND A HALF to change the profile picture on Facebook BUT IT WON’T CHANGE ON PINTEREST. And I can’t upload any pictures to pin on the fucking boards, I click Browse, choose a picture, press select, and — NOTHING. So I thought, right, go back to Facebook and make the Notes From A She-Hermit page into something, it’s been sitting there for fuck knows how long – AND I COULDN’T DO A PICTURE ON THERE EITHER and if I HAD been able to do a picture I wouldn’t have been able to do anything else BECAUSE IT’S TOO FUCKING COMPLICATED.

I give up. I can’t write, I can’t do pictures, I can’t even keep up with everyone’s posts – I turn up days late to read people’s blogs but I never seem to catch up. If everyone stopped posting for a week I might have a chance BUT YOU WON’T STOP WRITING, all you bloggers who don’t have wordy block, all you do is WRITE WRITE WRITE. STOP IT. Stop writing for a week and let me catch up. Go on holiday or something, clean your house, do your garden, do some overtime at work, see if you can chew your fingernails into perfect copies of the MONA LISA, do anything but WRITE.

I daren’t take a break because I’m scared I won’t come back and I LOVE this blog but I know what I’m like, I give up on EVERYTHING eventually and if I give up on this I’ll be fucked, they might as well cart me away now, save them the bother when I lose it completely because if I don’t have the blog and all the bloggy stuff that goes with it to distract me from BEING MENTAL and from the NOISES IN MY FUCKING HEAD THAT ARE GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER AND WORSE AND WORSE I’ll go even more mental than I am already.

 

 

Okay, rant over for today. There might be another one tomorrow but don’t bother reading it, it’s just my way of keeping me writing and blogging – at least I’ve written SOMETHING. Sorry.

 

Leave a comment

115 Comments

  1. Peaches

     /  July 17, 2012

    Dear Dotty, Could you please tell us more about the perfect brick, when you started to like them, your thoughts on the olympics, what you think of all members of the royal family, and (since they are speaking so loudly anyways) what the voices say? There is so much more I want to know. Love , Peaches.

    Reply
    • Dear Peaches,

      Thank you for the ideas – when I sit down to write in the morning I’ll see if any of your suggestions work. :-)

      The noises are hyperacusis and tinnitus, not real voices – but one of the tinnitus noises sounds like a young child screaming and another is like a choir in the distance so I suppose they ARE voices only they’re not MENTAL voices.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,
        I happy voices aren’t actually telling you to do things for your sake. You make up some crazy voices for my entertainment though. I would be ever so grateful. ;)
        Love, Peaches-the-insominac

      • Dear Peaches,

        How grateful? Five thousand quid grateful? ;-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,
        You’re so funny.
        Love,
        Peaches

      • Dear Peaches,

        There’s nothing funny about five thousand quid. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,
        The funny part is that you thought I might have it.
        Love, Peaches.

      • Dear Peaches,
        :-) HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA :-)

        You got me with that!! :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  2. I haven’t read this post, and I won’t read your post tomorrow either… but you seem to have written a lot words about something. Okay, I confess I read the first few words, so… P.S. What always works for me when I have “wordy block” is to think of something I would never ever write about – for me, even though I’m quite foodie, I don’t want to do food blogging (& so it calls me in its evil, taunting way), or if I write something for a competition that I can’t publish elsewhere, it screams in my head for escape. Just saying :)

    Reply
    • Dear Ella,

      I’ve had a go at most things when I’ve got bored – recipes, reviews, Hermit Tips, all sorts of shite. You’re right though, I’ll try to think of something I haven’t written anything about. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Or, think of something you shouldn’t wouldn’t couldn’t ever in a million years even if you were tortured write about… and see what happens. I have a short story competition I wouldn’t mind entering (no chance of winning, I’m crap at short stories). Annoyingly, unlike essay writing at school there’s no set topic, and I have no story so I need to take my own advice.

      • Dear Ella,

        I haven’t been able to plan any writing for years – starting this blog got me out of a massive wordy block but I still haven’t planned anything, the way I’ve been doing it is I sit down to write and whatever comes out is my post for the day. I have great difficulty writing anything else, even my shopping lists, believe it or not – any writing that requires any amount of thought is almost impossible.

        I’m going to try what you said and see if I CAN plan something that I’ve never done – maybe this wordy block is telling me it’s time to step up and give planning a go again. If you hear screams, ignore them. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Don’t mind me, I’m a “fixer” with too much time on my hands… and I was only commenting earlier, different blog, I’m not comfortable with plans, since John Lennon and THAT quote… [you've been very kind indulging my comments :) ]

      • Dear Ella,

        No, seriously, you’ve given me something to think about. It might be time for a change. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  3. unfetteredbs

     /  July 17, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    You must not give up… I love to read any shite you write.
    ubs

    Reply
  4. I love this post and must confess I would rather read your rants than read NOTHING from you as even your rants are creative and witty! Dont be disheartened if your struggling to write something you feel justifies your blog theme. I can’t speak for everyone but I can tell you how much your blog inspires me. I just did an interview type post maybe do something like that as a change? I dunno what to suggest really I’m a newbie yet to get wordy block :-(

    Reply
  5. Dear Dotty,

    I can often find my muse in absinthe.

    Love, Missus Tribble xxx

    Reply
  6. Pinterest is brilliant ans sooo addictive! It took me a while to get a feel for it. Have you put the Pin It Button on your toolbar (not sure that’s the right term) at the top of the web browser? It took me ages to get that one. If you go to “About” at the top of the Pinterest page, then Pin It Button, you then drag the white Pin It button at the top of the page into your toolbar- thing.

    When you find a photo on any web page you just click the Pin It button and go from there. If you want to pin a someone else’s pin on Pinterest, just click the photo and click repin which will appear on the photo.

    Hope that’s helpful??? Then you can be addicted like me!

    Reply
    • Dear Rachel,

      Thanks. I put the button on my toolbar after I joined but I haven’t used it yet. I tried for ages to upload a picture from my laptop with no joy so I didn’t look at the rest of what I could do. When I’m not so irritable I’ll go back and see if i can get it to work. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • You’re obviously way smarted than me for sussing out the Pin It button. Hope you feel better soon xxx

      • Dear Rachel,

        ha, I’m not smart – it gave me the option of whether or not I wanted it when I verified the email and joined. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  7. Dear Dotty,

    Today you’ve done the perfect thing — writers write. Even if it’s silly and nonsensical, writers write. So just keep on writing about not being able to write, and new, fresh topics will present themselves to you. And if Little Emily has bagged on you, find another author and make friends. Mine is John Steinbeck, and I’ll introduce the two of you if you’d like! Hang in there, my bloggy sister! 8-)

    Reply
    • Dear Judith,

      Thank you, you always know the right thing to say to buck me up. That’s what I’m hoping will happen, something will manifest itself when I least expect it and open up a whole new area of themes and stories.

      Little Emily and Branwell live quite near me, that’s how we became friends in the first place. I might ask Branwell if Charlotte fancies a Cumberland sausage sandwich for her breakfast one morning – I don’t like her, she’s a bossy cow, but at the very least it would annoy little Emily just as much as she’s annoying me. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  8. Dear Dotty,
    You just wrote about Pinterest and Facebook.
    I’ve written post after post about those subjects.
    If you’ve ever watched the classic and popular in the US Seinfeld…..the show about a show about nothing….
    you’d realize, people love to watch, read, hear…
    about nothing.
    Keep up the nothing.
    It’s good! ;)
    Love, LIs
    xooxox

    Reply
    • Dear Lisa,

      Oh, goodie – have you written about how to do things on Pinterest and Facebook if you’re a complete idiot like me?

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,
        I could teach you.
        But I’d have to charge.
        My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard.
        Wait. That had nothing to do with the first two lines.
        Although the last line is in the song I was singing…that goes with the first two lines.
        You’re welcome.
        Sure you wanna learn from me?
        LOve,
        Lis
        oxoox
        YOu’ll have to put on your Focus Hat. Cuz God knows I can fly all over the place.

      • Dear Lisa,

        All I want to know for now is why it won’t upload my pics from my laptop, and why it won’t let me upload a new profile pic. I haven’t got any further than trying to do those two things.

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,
        I had a problem uploading pictures too. I usually just REpin what other people PIN…but I always Pinterest my blog. And it’s super easy. IN fact, I think I have Pinterested YOUR blog. I don’t see the Pinterest Icon on your Share. I think the uploading is a problem tho. I’ll mess around with it a bit.
        And, I don’t want you to go anywhere.
        I’m sending you UnwordBlock pills.
        Although I don’t really think you need them;.
        NO one is complaining about what you are putting out for us to read.
        So.
        If you build it, they will come.
        I could literally spend hours and hours on your blog. Unless Jemima is creeping me out too much. ;)
        LOve, LIs
        xooxoxox

      • Dear Lisa,

        I’ll have a look at Pinterest again later today and see if I can do the repinning thing. I could spend hours there, there’s so much to look at. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,
        By George!!!
        I think I got it!!!!
        you need to dig up some of your old stuff for us to look at.
        I know a blogger who does that.
        Don’t reinvent the wheel!!!
        Just bring the old ones out!
        Get it? :)
        Love, lis
        xooxoxoox

      • Dear Lisa,

        Reblogging? No, I don’t see the point of reblogging my own rubbish, it would bore the arse off the people who have already read it – if people want to go back and read the older shite it’s all on the sidebar or lumped in themes in the Pages at the top of the blog.

        Love Dotty xxx

  9. Who would win in a fight…a zebra or a llama?

    Reply
  10. I relate to fear of not writing and never coming back. A number of bloggers who take breaks do come back, and we’re still all here for them. I think eventually I’ll not be blogging as much so I’m preparing myself. Maybe you could try being more relaxed about it and not stressing about not being able to produce. When your brain is relaxed ideas come more easily. I think everyone’s so busy and preoccupied with their own lives to get that bent out of shape when even the bloggers we love aren’t there for a bit, though we hope they come back.

    Reply
    • Dear Swordy,

      Why? Where are you going? Or what are you doing? – tell me to shut up and not be nosey if you want :-)

      It’s not really about the blog and whether or not people read it, it’s the fact that this is the only way I’ve been able to write anything at all for years and if I give up on it I think I might as well give up on the hope of ever doing any serious writing again because, like Judith said, writers write. You’re spot on about the stressing, I know, it makes it worse. Maybe I should take a break with the proviso that I come back on a certain day.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Oh Dotty that sounds so severe — ‘…give up on the hope of ever doing any serious writing again…’ Nooooooooo!! Well then if you need to put shite in here to keep it going until the going is ‘good’ then put shite in here :)

        Me, I’m not going anywhere. I’ve been using my blog as a piss poor marketing platform for my home made book, which is on Kindle. I’m getting hard copies made now. I want to do readings in cafes and bookstores after that. When that’s done, though I have a cute job in a gallery at a botanical garden, I promised myself to look for a REAL job. So I’ll leave all the book stuff behind me and some of that social media, like facebook and twitter. I have grown to appreciate my interactions and relationships with bloggers, so here and there I’ll continue, but it does require a lot of work. Oh good luck to us all! Even when I’ve stopped blogging I’ll be certain to check you out Dotty, you are one of a kind!

      • Dear Swordy,

        There’s hope for us all yet – you’re giving up blogging to have a REAL life. Maybe one day we’ll all be able to do the same. ;-)

        Seriously, I hope it all goes well and your plans are fruitful and bring you all you desire. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  11. Tinking of another category for TBC is guest blogging, also why not have guest bloggers here, that can help if your alittle blocked.

    Reply
    • Dear trh,

      I’ve thought about it for the Big Blog when we get some more people, to ask if anyone would like to do technical posts about how to do things on WordPress (simplified, not too technical), but I’m not sure about guests on this blog. They’d want feeding, wouldn’t they? ;-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Feeding..lol well you could offer them some cumberalnd sausage sandwiches:P

      • Dear trh,

        I could. Maybe. Possibly. But then how would I know they aren’t psycho guest bloggers? Is there a CRB check for bloggers, like you need if you want to work with children or vulnerable people?

        Love Dotty xxx

  12. I know what you mean about catching up–I’m perpetually always feeling like I’m behind on blog reading and need to catch up. I’ve sort of accepted that I can’t always be caught up on all of them, but then I feel guilty if I don’t read a blog for a while.

    Reply
    • Dear Angel,

      Me too. I follow a zillion blogs but I can’t stop myself from following new ones. I feel guilty too, and think I shouldn’t follow any more but then I come across one I really like and I can’t help myself. With many of the mental health blogs, and a few of the writing ones, I read the posts in my email either as they come in or, if I’m avoiding mental health stuff because I’m down I’ll save them up for a good read when I’m ready (yours included) but I don’t visit the blogs as often as I should to let you (and the others) know that I am actually reading everything. Other blogs don’t have the full posts in the emails so I click and visit.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  13. Fish Out of Water

     /  July 17, 2012

    The Mormons cured me. I’ll send them right over! Hahahahahaahaha!

    Reply
    • Dear Fishy,

      Yes, do, please! I miss the Mormons. I asked for some new Mormon friends in one of my early posts but I haven’t found any yet. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  14. Dearest Dotty,

    Sometimes the block comes because you’ve run out of ideas to talk about from your perspective. Turn it around and let some mundane inanimate object in your home take on a persona and have that object write all about you instead.

    For example – what does that brick think of you, carrying it around and staring at it all day. Or maybe one of your fine dinner plates that constantly serves up those Cumberland Sausages, or maybe even your pan that cooks the sausages. Is your pan a happy pan, or does it pine for a different meat to cook up every once in a while? I’m sure there are plenty of things in the Dotty household that are yearning for a voice, while yours takes a little rest. But be forewarned – talking objects might become a nuisance – witness any number of teakettles and candlestick holders from Disney animated movies…

    For what it’s worth – even when you have nothing to say, it sounds a helluva lot better than so many blow-hard blogs that say a lot about nothing, and with lots less panache. I just love a good Dotty rant.

    All the best!

    Phil

    Reply
    • Dear Phil,

      You beauty! I love you. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Awwww. Shucks now…. :)

      • Dear Phil,
        :-) All my possessions are clamouring to be the first guest blogger. I’m trying to decide which of them should go first. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • Dear Dotty,

        I do hope your possessions do not become jealous of each other and start quarreling and making a big fuss about being first. That could be troublesome… :O

      • Dear Phil,

        Oh – they might start fighting! I’ll have to move the guns away from the waxworks of Keifer Sutherland and Florence Nightingale or it’ll be like the Wild West in my living room!!

        Love Dotty xxx

  15. Dear Dotty,
    Your nothing is always full of something. I couldn’t figure out Pinterest either.
    Love,
    Maggie

    Reply
    • Dear Maggie,

      I don’t know why they make these sites so hard to use.
      Twitter – crap, I couldn’t work it out and I don’t see the point of it.
      Facebook – crap, I’m trying to work it out but not succeeding.
      Tumblr – complicated shite.
      Stumble upon – more complicated shite.
      Pinterest – I’ll give it another couple of tries before I fuck it off like the rest.
      :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  16. Everybody else is taking breaks. You should have one too. Even though my life will cease to have meaning… whatever… sigh… snifffle…

    Reply
  17. I know how you feel. By committing to every day there are some days I struggle to find anything that might seem slightly entertaining. LOL.

    I personally love your rants. I think you are at your finest when you do. However, it is good to not always be that pissed. LOL

    I find inspiration at times when I read other people’s blogs. I’m reading something and it makes me think of something I could write about. But overall, I bet most of us are sharing the same big boat.

    You can always have us toss out topics too. :D

    Reply
    • Dear Brick,

      When little Emily used to visit and I’d post about it, sometimes the comments to the post would spark soemthing for the next day’s post so when I sat down to do it I had an idea of where it would go. The comments on this post have been more than helpful too – a little spark has gone off, I’ll see if it lights up when I do the post. Or actually, I think I’ll change the way I do it today – instead of writing it straight into the new post box I’ll do it in Word and post it tomorrow – that’ll be a first for me to do a post and not publish it straight away, the challenge will be when I come to reread it not to press Delete before I move it over to WordPress.

      Sorry, I’m rambling. I thought of asking for some topics – if this doesn’t work, I’ll do that. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  18. i knew this would happen; that’s why i went away for you

    my guest blogger was very well behaved….he’s been particularly quiet of late in fact…he may well have snuffed it on the corner of tooting and gatton

    Reply
    • Dear Sacha,

      Thank you, you’re so considerate. :-)

      I hope he hasn’t snuffed it, the resulting stains would be hard to clean off the pavement.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  19. Most Belovedest Magical Dotty,

    I couldn’t go to bed tonight without a visit to your cyber house and even when you aren’t trying you pull it off. Thank you for your consistency. Please don’t ever leave – I can’t read all the comments above, but fuckin’ A, we couldn’t go on without you, particularly not your collected Americans!

    So, last I knew (recall my lengthy stay[s] in hospital in which i had little time to attend to proper blogging – I hope I’ll be forgiven) you’d had a visit with a doctor – have I missed the results, or is there an interminable wait?

    So glad I came. Sorry you’re uninspired. Pinterest can be very inspiring once you’ve got it down, this Twitter business confuses fuckall out of me. Tweets? What? I can have wings? OK.

    Thank you for being one of the bright spots. I can close the sentence there. I hope for more of them for you.

    Love.
    MM

    Reply
    • Dear Magic,

      Thank you. I hope everything is looking a little brighter. :-)

      No results yet, still waiting for them to decide what I am (fucking mental – yes, they know that – but HOW fucking mental, that is the question. Dickheads.) :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  20. And for good measure I finally added your Blog Collection of Blog Collections to my roll. Next I must nominate the page for an award.

    Love,
    A little more magic with you here

    Reply
    • Dear Magic,

      Thank you. I’ll be over to yours sometime today – I’m making inroads into the big backlog of post emails. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  21. Aw, Dotty, I hope things pick up for you soon. “Wordy block” can really suck the fun out of writing. It seriously is not a good feeling. I hate when it happens to me, as it makes me feel so empty. I love writing, so when I can’t think of what to write about, I feel like something is missing for sure. I hope you’re able to knock that block down, though, and feel better about writing.

    “… BUT YOU WON’T STOP WRITING, all you bloggers who don’t have wordy block, all you do is WRITE WRITE WRITE. STOP IT. Stop writing for a week and let me catch up. Go on holiday or something, clean your house, do your garden, do some overtime at work, see if you can chew your fingernails into perfect copies of the MONA LISA, do anything but WRITE.”

    Just so you know, this part right here made me laugh so much! :D I’ll say this, my friend, you’re a master at your craft, ’cause even when you’re blocked, you still rock! :)

    Reply
    • Dear SM,

      Thank you. I think this post might have done the trick – certain comments have sparked a little something that I’m going to have a go at today. Fingers crossed! :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  22. Dear Dotty,

    I read the WHOLE post, even though you told me not to, because I’m disobedient like that. All I have to say is that for someone suffering from wordy block, you managed an awful lot of words and even with my grammar police hat on they all looked liked good words in a pretty good order to me :-)

    See you tomorrow?

    Love WeeGee xxx

    Reply
  23. PS. Can I swap disopbedient for disobedient please? (sob, sob, sob)

    Reply
  24. Dear Dotty,
    Ugh, I know! Sometimes I wish people would just stop writing so I can catch up! Monkey-Bee says hi. Oh and the noises in the ear…dear god. Fuck. I finally went to the ENT last week. News is not too great–hearing loss increased or less… GLAGH.

    Anyway, love your blog. It’s because of your blog that I found so many special people like Sailor and THAM and well, YOU!

    Love xoxoxoxxx

    Reply
    • Dear PAZ,

      Sorry you’ve had shite news from ENT. It’s a bastard, isn’t it? Is there nothing they can do to help?

      I think I’m getting a bit overwhelmed with it all so i’m going to take a break.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dear Dotty,
        I was going to suggest to take a break actually. It would be a good thing for ya.

        Ughhh… My hearing… I’ll try not to think about it.

        Love xoxoxxx

      • Dear PAZ,

        Yep, I think it might.

        Lots of love Dotty xxx

  25. I couldn’t work Pininterest either. I gave up. Thanks for the like and follow.

    Reply
  1. The Mental Health Writer’s Guild « My Bipolar Bubble
  2. Following in the Footsteps of Some of the Great Bloggers « Someone Fat Happened

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

