I’m Going On My Summer Holiday With Escher And Engleby

 

I’m taking a break for a while - I’m going on holiday to my spare bedroom. On the wall facing the bed I’ve put up a massive poster advertising the Escher exhibition that took place at one of our local big houses a few years ago. I nicked the poster and kept it rolled up until I needed it – which is NOW. It’s one of his stairs pictures, Relativity. It’s fucking HUGE, there almost isn’t enough wall for it to go on. I could look at it for hours – and I will be looking at it for hours because that’s what you do on holiday, isn’t it -except everyone else looks at the sea and I’ll be looking at Escher’s stairs where my bedroom wall used to be.

This is the picture. You can’t get the full impact of it unless you can look at one as big as the one I’ll be looking at.

I’m taking Engleby with me – Sebastian Faulks is sick of him, he said he’s too mental and whiney for his own good. I think Sebastian’s trying to play Cupid, but Engleby isn’t my type. Unless he brings me absinthe and laudanum cocktails with little multi-coloured umbrellas and a bit of fruit in them, if he does that without drinking them en route to ME I might have a rethink about his suitability as one of my suitors.

See that little cafe on the right of the picture? It said in the brochure it has internet access so if I get the chance I’ll come online to read some blogs, but I think my holiday will be so action-packed I won’t have time to write. But you never know.

Adieu, auf wiedersehen, au revoir, bon voyage, toodle pip, tatty-bye.

 

Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. Tatty-bye Dotty! This sounds like a blast!

    Reply
  2. Dear Dotty,
    I don’t think I like the sounds of this so I refuse to click the Like button because that would be lying and I’m no liar. When are you coming back from the Spare Room?
    Love,
    Maggie

    Reply
  3. Have a good break Dotty and come back all refreshed.

    Reply
  4. I’ll try to think of you on each landing, my Dear, if it doesn’t make me any dizzier than I already am (you already are). Will have an absinthe in your absence.

    Reply
  5. Dear Dotty,
    Can I come?

    Love, Lis
    xoxooxox

    Reply
  6. Holy crap! How long have they been doing summer in the UK? I thought you guys were strictly 3-Seasonal!

    Reply
  7. I hadn’t thought of Escher for years. Fabulous poster.

    I have a holiday song for you, unfortunately I didn’t write it (or fortunately…)

    “Halfway down the stairs is a stair where I sit.
    There isn’t any other stair quite like it.
    I’m not at the bottom, I’m not at the top.
    So this is the stair where I always stop.

    Halfway up the stairs isn’t up and isn’t down.
    It isn’t in the nursery, it isn’t in the town.
    And all sorts of funny thoughts run round my head.
    It isn’t really anywhere, it’s somewhere else instead.

    Halfway down the stairs is a stair where I sit.
    There isn’t any other stair quite like it.
    I’m not at the bottom, I’m not at the top.
    So this is the stair where I always stop.”

    You may or may not channel The Muppets while you sing. I’m so old that someone else sang it before The Muppets. Once it’s in your head, it will take days to get it out again.

    Reply
  8. I enjoyed Faulks’s Pistache.

    Reply
  9. Oh no! How long will you be gone!?

    Reply
  10. Dear Dotty,

    I think I would enjoy that cafe as long as I could keep the coffee from sloshing sideways out of my cup.

    Have a nice time!

    xoxo Mme Weebles

    Reply
    • Dear Mme Weebles,

      It was a nice cafe but the waiter kept scratching his unmentionables so I didn’t stay long.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  11. Looks like the stairs at Hogwarts. Do they move too? :D

    Reply
  12. G’day Dotty,

    ‘ave a goodun.

    John.

    Reply
  13. Escher just makes me feel more crazy when I can’t get round his stupid staircases- arghhhh!

    Reply
  14. come back soon please!!!

    Reply
  15. Dear Dotty,

    Enjoy your spare bedroom trip! That sounds like a great vacation, and who better than Escher to spend it with? I hope you don’t scrape your knees, or take any falls on those stairs. I bet you’ll have a blast. Good for you!!!

    Love,

    Judith

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

