Mental Music ——- Vitas – Opera # 2

This is Vitas, an award winning Russian singer/songwriter with one of the best high falsetto voices ever. He’s mega famous not only in Russia and Poland and a load of other countries but in China and all over Asia, (in China he’s called the Prince of Dolphins, or the Dolphin Boy). This is him performing his most famous hit, Opera #2 (which he wrote himself).

*
*

And this is the video – watch it, it’s good.
He has gills.
And I don’t know what he wants with all the little fishes.
He’s mental.
The video is mental.
The song is mental.
I LOVE IT.

*
*

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. Dorothy

     /  July 22, 2012

    Dear Dotty,
    Perhaps if I understood Russian better, more than please and thank you and poisoned watermelon I might understand how smashing up little jars with fish relate to this man’s lost love because she found out he had gills and his real name wasn’t Micky Gilley. As for the music I did prefer the music video over the audience version. What’s up with those people acting like they are dying? I guess I just don’t understand enough world music (except for the Italians) In any case an interesting, eye-opening posting, just what I like to see in music. Not the same old, same old. Thanks.
    Love Dorothy

    Reply
    • Dear Dorothy,

      An English translation of the lyrics –

      OPERA # 2

      My house has been built but I am alone here
      The door banged behind my back
      An autumn wind is knocking on the window
      Crying over me all over again…
      Thunderstorm at night and fog in the morning…
      The sun has turned completely cold
      Old pains are following one another
      Let them all get together!

      My house has been built but I am alone here
      The door banged behind my back
      An autumn wind is knocking on the window
      Crying over me all over again…
      This is Fate and I can’t
      Ask anything of Fate!
      I just know how the winds
      Will be wailing after I’m gone.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • Dorothy

         /  July 22, 2012

        Dear Dotty,
        Wow…very dramatic lyrics. I can understand why you like this especially along with the video. Thanks for the translation.
        Love Dorothy

      • Dear Dorothy,

        It’s all a bit mad. Just the way I like it. ;-)

        Love Dotty xxx

  2. Dear Dotty,

    This made my whole day. A fish-man, playing accordion while naked, mourning the discovery that his mysterious love doesn’t have gills? EPIC.

    Love,
    Kathy

    Reply
    • Dear Kathy,

      GENIUS. :-)

      You should see some of the costumes he wears for his stage performances. Completely, absolutely bonkers. :-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  3. Dearest Dotty, I like this but I’m here to tell you I’ve nominated you for a ‘one beautiful blogger’ award. I hope you like what I said. Love from Chris :)

    Reply
  4. Dotty, ditto what Kathy V. said. I am so freakin’ glad you learned to insert videos in here. You said he had gills, I’m like, ‘okay’, but all that other stuff and the screaming — it doesn’t get any better than this — it can’t get anymore mental than this… Dotty, a big fat thank you to you from across the seas!

    Reply
  5. Oh yes, and this was even better than I expected, and I expected it to be funny as hell coming from you.

    Reply
  6. This. is. insanely. mental. AND I love it
    Thanks again Dear Dotty
    UBS

    Reply
  7. dear Dotty,
    The kids and I have watched the video (the bottom one) twice.
    We are majorly confused.
    Littlest kept saying…”oh no! the fish!” everytime that guy’s voice broke the glass.
    But, strangely enough, I may have to download this song.
    I like it.
    Weird!!!!!
    The top one was good. I noticed the back up people have black hoods.
    How crazy.
    Very cool. :)
    Love, lis
    xoxooxx

    Reply
    • Dear Lisa,

      I can’t work out why ALL the fish jars didn’t smash seeing as all the windows smashed when he falsetto-ed outside.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  8. They’re especially good when played at the same time, #2 starting just a little after #1. Oh, and no fish were injured in the filming of video #2, right?

    Reply
  9. Man, I have this music in my head now . . .

    Reply
  10. My stupid computer does not like those movie things.

    Reply
  11. how sad that what he thought was to be the womanfish with whom he’d raise their fish minions and reset the gene pool, just turned out to be some bird who shopped at the same scarf emporium…..made perfect sense to me…

    Reply
    • Dear sacha,

      So whose babies were the fish in the jars?

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • i believe them to ‘normal’ fish, ie. those reproduced from parents of the same kind, but they are of a particular species that lends itself well to being raised by gilled humans – specifically russians oddly enough – and developed into that of a minion state

      • Dear sacha,

        Is their leader called Troutsky?

        Love Dotty xxx

      • at the moment yes, but lenin sole looks hot to take over, and never rule out joseph marlin……

  12. Oh yeah, way to go! He wouldn’t even have to sing and I’d like it, I just love those Russian rhythms.

    Reply

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

