Shitey Sunday Picture Post – Baby Jumping

*

Castrillo de Murcia in Spain.

It’s a nice sunny day.

What shall we do?

I know, we’ll take our babies out for the day and lie them on mattresses in the street.

*

*

This nice Catholic tradition of lying our babies

on mattresses in the street goes back to 1620.

It’s called El Colacho.

It’s holy. The priests are here. They love it too.

But what’s this?

OH NO!

Here comes The Devil!!

*

*

Phew, he isn’t going to smite us!

He just wants to jump over our babies

to cleanse them of original sin.

That’s all right then.

*

*

BOING

*

*

BOING

*

*

BOING

*

*

BOING

*

*

BOING

*

*

BOING BOING BOING BOING BOING

*

*

That was a lovely day out.

Now we’ll go home for tea.

*

Leave a comment

49 Comments

  1. Hmmm, too tempting to mis-jump lol

    Reply
    • Dear Mondrak,

      HORROR!!! Do you want to squash the poor babies!! ;-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • ME?? The thought never crossed my mind (it just got half way and stayed there ;-))

      • Dear Mondrak,

        I should hope it did. But if I see any reports of mysterious baby-squashing incidents I’ll have to grass you up. :-)

        Love Dotty xxx

      • LOL, I’ll have to make sure no-one sees hehe

      • Dear Mondrak,

        I’ll still know it’s you. And when I start going out again and I see loads of kids running round with foot-shaped faces, I’LL HAVE TO TELL ON YOU.

        Love Dotty xxx

  2. unfetteredbs

     /  August 26, 2012

    wtf?? no way no how would I leave my babies on a mattress for that..

    Reply
  3. Fish Out of Water

     /  August 26, 2012

    What in the ever loving fuck was that? Humans are so weird.

    Reply
  4. I am speechless. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    Reply
  5. that is bloody mental.

    is all.

    Reply
  6. That was possibly the most bizarre thing I’ve ever seen. Tiny theological quibble: Doesn’t the Devil have a vested interest in not cleansing them of original sin, and doesn’t the RCC say we’re stuck with it anyway?

    That’s a lot of trust to place in the jumping bloke. He probably has a stiff drink beforehand to steady his nerves.

    Reply
    • Dear poet,

      That’s what I thought. Why isn’t Jesus jumping over them?

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
      • That would be so much more impressive. They could have tag team baby jumping – Father, Son, and Holy Ghost taking it in turns. Possibly an Olympic event? White, shiny, Evel Knievel jump suits, of course.

      • Dear poet,

        I wonder if baby Jesus was the original baby on the mattress and the Holy Trinity couldn’t leap over him because he wasn’t old enough to join the Father and the Holy Ghost, and also it would be impossible for him to jump over HIMSELF! Maybe that’s why the devil does it. Or maybe it’s a minimum wage thing.

        Love Dotty xxx

  7. No wonder Spain is going broke. What a bunch of wasters!

    Reply
  8. Dear Dotty,

    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    . . . .

    .

    Love,
    Owl

    Reply
  9. Dorothy

     /  August 27, 2012

    Sorry, no way someone’s going to jump over any baby of mine. It can live in sin until they come up with some other idea that doesn’t involve my baby’s head accidently getting cracked open. Talk about nightmares.

    Reply
  10. Is it just me, or does this tradition seem wrong? I wonder how many babies grew up with their noses smushed in from when the person landed wrong? .. :D

    Reply
  11. I did not know the Devil dresses like Elvis…
    What happens if the Devil lands on your baby???

    Reply
  12. Dear Dotty,
    We Catholics are a strange bunch. Which reminds me, I never had the devil jump over my children. Oh jeez, gotta get on that and now they are teenagers and probably won’t lie still.
    Love,
    Maggie

    Reply
    • Dear Maggie,

      What? You haven’t had them exorcised yet? I can’t believe you’re such a bad Catholic. Tie them to the mattress, woman. Do it now.

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  13. oh my dear dotty dotty dotty

    boing……so as ‘charabanc’, ‘wittol’ and ‘frigorific’…….boing…….are words considered by those of such means…..boing……to be ousted from smaller print runs of the dictionary…….boing…….it so seems that ‘catch-up’……boing…….has been so estranged from my life, that your wonderous literary and pictoral offerings…….boing……may well be viewed……boing…….only when the annunciation of a sightseeing bus carrying a man who knows he’s being cheated on and thence catches a chill, has become common parlance once again………….boing……

    Reply
  14. Dear Ms. Headbanger,

    I’d hoped to find an Spanish onomatopoeia replacement for the English “boing,” but my studies came up short. The best I can come up with is other noises that would accompany this scene. The “buá buá” of crying babies. The “Cht” of family members and priests trying to hush them. The “bum bum bum” of people’s heartbeats as silence falls and the devil makes his run. An “¡Achú!” when the devil lets a sneeze escape, causing him to miss his jump. A disgusting “Plaf” followed immediately by the “Ayyyyyy!” of a shrieking mother. Then, of course, the “Glup,” for the collective throat swallow of all the horrified onlookers.

    Sincerely,

    -S

    Reply
  15. Dear Dotty,
    WTF?!
    I know the saying is, “it takes all types to make the world go round”…
    but seriously…..
    W….T….F?????? :)
    Love, Lis
    xoxoox

    Reply
  16. That really made me laugh! What the hell! No pictures of squashed babies, well that’s something!

    Reply
    • Dear butimbeautiful,

      I thought of Photoshopping a big omelette onto one of the mattresses but then I thought, nah, imagination is MUCH more gory. ;-)

      Love Dotty xxx

      Reply
  1. Day of the Dead and Latin American Celebrations: South America (Part 3) | Triple Travel – English

Write a little note to Dotty.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

